Home > Distance Education, Educational Technology, Teaching & Learning > In One Online Class, Twitter Brings Students Together

In One Online Class, Twitter Brings Students Together

By Theresa Billiot

Imagine making meaningful connections with your online students, using Twitter, that are as strong as your connections with your on-campus students.

I fantasized about that possibility after completing my first semester teaching undergraduate marketing courses, both online and on campus. Despite engaging with my online students on discussion boards and over e-mail, I still felt a lack of true connection compared with my experiences with on-campus students. I felt unfulfilled as a professor, and I wondered how my online students felt about their connection with me.

Replacing face-to-face instruction is difficult, perhaps impossible. But online education isn’t going away, so I decided to find new pedagogical methods to improve online engagement. I quickly saw potential in the rising popularity of Twitter. I decided, for my next online course on strategic electronic marketing, to use Twitter instead of the discussion boards included with my college’s course-management software.

Continued at: http://chronicle.com/article/In-One-Online-Class-Twitter/129120/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

