Home > Distance Education, Higher Education, Teaching & Learning > 6 Easy Steps to Online Success

6 Easy Steps to Online Success

By Richard Rose

It’s hard keeping promises. Thirty years ago I promised myself I’d lose 30 pounds, with no progress to date. I resolved never to get annoyed at the puppy, with limited success. And I absolutely swore I would never write one of those “Six Easy Steps” articles, for one simple reason: Never write what you don’t like to read. I am fundamentally averse to tackling complicated issues with a one-size-fits-all approach.

But I can’t help myself. The online Master of Education program in instructional design and technology at my school, West Texas A&M University, has more than doubled its admissions during the last two years, even as similar programs nationwide have struggled. This is because we consistently honor six very simple practices in every course in the program. During my career as a senior instructional designer at Microsoft and Boeing, these practices were universal for online instruction. I have been shocked to learn how many online college courses incorporate none of them.

Continued at: http://campustechnology.com/articles/2011/10/24/6-easy-steps-to-online-success.aspx

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

