Home > Higher Education, Teaching & Learning > Be Your Weird Self

Be Your Weird Self

By Nate Kreuter

I’m a weirdo. It has never mattered what community I’m a part of — I live and work in the periphery, and expect that I always will. At this point in my life, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

And I think that you too should be a weirdo. You probably already are one. Stick with me here.

Almost inherently, anybody working in academe is abnormal. If you are pursuing a higher degree or already hold an academic appointment, you simply aren’t a typical person (if there even is such a thing). And no matter your field, the institution you work at, or your personal values and ideological commitments, you probably aren’t even a good approximation of what most Americans consider in their own minds to be normal. That we are not typical citizens is not, in my opinion, a good or a bad thing, but simply a thing.

Continued at: http://www.insidehighered.com/advice/2012/01/13/essay-urges-academics-admit-being-little-weird#ixzz1jM7CCz9Z

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

